Young Ones and Once

1 Timothy 4:12 – Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.

My parents had always told me that I should make my adolescence and youth life worth remembering. Something that I can share to my future grandchildren and be proud enough to tell them that I have lived a happy, enjoyable and memorable life as a young person. I guess I almost failed my parents in this particular request.

With a series of fights with my dad, which sometimes end up by me staying at my grandparent’s house for several weeks, and a list of failed, sinful relationships, it definitely was a dark stage.

But God will never allow His children to stay in evil. All it took was one moment with Him for me to realize that it was not yet too late to follow the above stated verse and my parents’ request.

I made amends with my Dad, and I realized that he was right all along. Sin and deceit had cloud my judgement before. Sinful relationships were put to an end. 

And the journey with Jesus Christ – a journey of taking a new life, obeying His words and allowing His plans for me started. It is not easy. I am used to living my life by my rules, by the way I want it. 

But the promise of eternal life with Him is more than enough to keep me strong.

You see beloved, just like me, we are all given the choice to live a life with Him. And we are just young once in our life. We belong in a generation where commitment had become almost obsolete and respect is foreign. Love has become cheap and purity is a stranger.

Is this what we wanted our future grandchildren to know from us? 

Leave a Reply

