Fly High

I’ve been travelling all over the country for the past nine years. Some are personal travels, most are work related. And always, by God’s grace, I travel via plane.

In my latest flight, I was bound for Bacolod City. Since I took the earliest flight that day, 6:00 a.m. , I was at NAIA Terminal 2 by 4:45 in the morning. As I sat at the departure launch, memories came flooding into my thoughts.

I remembered when I was a kid, living in the farm with my grandparents. Every time I would hear the plane’s engine, I would ran out into the fields and try to run after it as it zooms above. Then with so much energy and happiness that a kid can contain, I would go into my grandparents and make a proclamation “Someday, I will ride a plane!”.

I remembered how warm the laughter my grandparents would have every time I make that proclamation, and my grandmother would reply “they only allow tall people to ride in the plane, iha. You will not pass.” But I would only wrinkle my nose and say ” Whatever! I will study hard and work hard when I grow up and I will ride that plane!”

And so I nurtured that dream in my heart, making it part of my motivation and inspiration. 

Fast forward to the present and here I am,by God’s grace, riding planes almost on a weekly basis, going to places, seeing sights and scenes that I have never even dreamed about before. 

If my grandparents are alive today, I am quite sure they would be happy. 

And for all of these, my praises and thanksgiving is for the Lord. For making me dream high, fly high. 

 

Image

at Mambukal Mountain Resort in Murcia, Bacolod City, November 28, 2012

Image

In Boracay Island, Malay, Aklan, November 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

